Somaliland: President Bihi Revamps Council of Ministers


The President of the Republic of Somaliland, His Excellency Muse Bihi Abdi, has issued presidential decrees for the removal, appointment, and replacement of some members of the Council of Ministers of the Republic of Somaliland.

The Presidential Decree is as follows:

Purpose: Dismissal 

To: Abdiqadir Iman Warsame;

Former Minister of Agriculture Development

To: Dr. Abdiweli Sh. Abdullahi Sufi Gabriel;

Former Minister of Communications and Technology

To: Sh. Abdirisaq Hussein Ali Albani;

Former Minister of Religion and Endowment

To: Abdi Osman Abdulle Dhaga-Weyne;

Former Minister of Investment Development


Ladies and Gentlemen,

As you are aware, the responsibility of governing a nation is cyclical in nature and is delegated to those capable of fulfilling it. Therefore, I have decided to terminate your appointments in the positions you held for the nation. I thank you for your service during your tenure.


Purpose: Appointments

Presidential Decrees: Appointments and Changes

In accordance with the Constitution of the Republic of Somaliland, Article 90;

Considering their knowledge, skills, and experience;

Having satisfied that they can handle the responsibilities arising from these positions;

Following consultations;

I have decided;

With immediate effect, I hereby appoint the following officials:

  1. Ahmed Yusuf Idris Awale as Minister of Communications and Technology
  2. Ahmed Adan Ahmed Buxane as Minister of Education and Science
  3. Ahmed Mohamed Diriye Cige as Minister of Planning and National Development
  4. Abdirisaq Ibrahim Mohamed Farah as Minister of Investment Development
  5. Ali Hassan Mohamed Jama as Minister of Information, Awareness, and Culture
  6. Saleban Yusuf Ali Koore as Minister of Water Development
  7. Mohamed Haji Adan Elmi Mohamud as Minister of Religion and Endowment
  8. Abdinasir Muhammed Hassan Buuni as Minister of Assembly Relations and Constitutional Affairs
  9. Rabbi Abdi Mohamed Mohamud as Minister of Fisheries and Coastal Development
  10. Saleeban Awad Ali Bukhari as Minister of Transport and Road Development
  11. Ahmed Mohamed Habbane as Minister of Agriculture Development